REVIEW: All The Bright Things

I’d seen this book all over the place, so I knew I had to get it and give it a go.

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the ‘natural wonders’ of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself – a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?

An intense, gripping novel, perfect for fans of John Green, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman and Jenny Downham.

Since everyone had said how this is perfect if you’re a fan of John Green, I had extremely high hopes for this.

First things first, even though I really enjoyed Niven’s writing style, I found it extremely difficult to form a relationship with the characters. I couldn’t even tell you who my favourite character was since in all honestly, they all annoyed the shit into me.

Secondly, I was told by multiple people that I was going to cry and need to get some tissues. I sort of guessed what was going to happen, and when I finally got to it, I felt nothing. Either I’m a cold hearted bitch (most likely), or it just wasn’t that well written. I did like the lead up to the big event, but the actual event was quite disappointing. Not in what happened, just as how it was written.

I asked on my Instagram stories if the book got really any better, and the verdict was that no, it really doesn’t, and they were right.

If I’m reading a book, I usually find myself saying ‘one more chapter’ even though it’s 3am. With this, I found myself feeling tired and just went to bed for the night despite being halfway through a chapter.

I’m really annoyed I didn’t like this as much as I thought I would do. I’d be even more annoyed if I took this away on holiday to read by the pool…

I honestly don’t understand why this could be someones favourite book though. Finch changes who he is every 5 seconds, and Violet is such a bitch to Finch when her popular friends are around.

Sad to say that this wasn’t for me. I do have another book written by Jennifer, and even though I am intrigued to see if I feel the same about that book too, I’m sort of telling myself to not bother.

What did you think of this book? Am I just being a cold hearted bitch, or was it really that dull?



  1. 22nd August 2017 / 1:16 am

    I read this book and I found the start reaaaally slow, dull and boring. But when things did start to pick up the pace/when it felt a little bit more like ‘P.S I love you’ I really enjoyed reading it and I had a stream of tears flowing from my swollen eyes. I loved the book however it is quite predictable in basically everyway so I feel like you have to be a sucker for stereotypes and corny romance to actually be satisfied with the read. Loved reading this review x

    • 22nd August 2017 / 10:29 pm

      I’ll definitely have to give P.S I Love You a go! I just hate it when I guess whats going to happen! I think maybe if I didn’t, I would have enjoyed it more… Thank you though hun! x

      • 22nd August 2017 / 11:31 pm

        Yeaah I know what you mean. You might have, you never know! It might just not have been your cup of tea. No problem lovely 😆 x

  2. 22nd August 2017 / 7:30 am

    I was going to give this book a read, but I don’t know if I want to now. I feel like a lot of books I’ve read lately are predictable. I want something to make my jaw drop and say ‘I didn’t expect that’ have you got any recommendations?

    • 22nd August 2017 / 10:34 pm

      I’d definitely recommend ‘The Couple Next Door’ and I’m currently reading ‘A Stranger In The House’ which is by the same author! Both the books are so good and have me super gripped!

      • 23rd August 2017 / 10:45 am

        Ooo thank you, I’ll give them both a read 😊

  3. 22nd August 2017 / 9:19 am

    I love this book! Great post, I mentioned you in my recent post, it’d mean a lot if you went and checked it out and liked if you enjoyed x

  4. 22nd August 2017 / 9:51 am

    I’ve been wanting to read it for a while now but I’ve always been put off because A LOT of people said they just never felt connected to the characters! And that’s what I love about reading! So idk, I may give it a go soon x

    • 22nd August 2017 / 11:12 am

      I think it’s worth seeing if you like it or not, but I love it when I get a connection with the characters, but I felt zilch emotion! x

  5. 22nd August 2017 / 1:27 pm

    I read this last year and I felt so underwhelmed by it. All of my friends had really enjoyed it, so I bought it and I thought I’d bought the wrong book or something, my opinion on it was the polar opposite to theirs, made me feel like a cold hearted bitch too! Glad I’m not the only one who was a bit disappointed by it! X

    • 22nd August 2017 / 10:35 pm

      Thank god! I felt quite worried to post this since I follow a lot of people who said this is their favourite! I just felt no emotion whats so ever! #ColdHeartedBitchTeam x

  6. 22nd August 2017 / 4:20 pm

    Thank you for your honest review – you saved me some time. I’ll be passing on this one

  7. 22nd August 2017 / 4:25 pm

    It’s such a shame that you didn’t enjoy it, it’s one of my favourites! Really appreciate your honesty and a great review thought xx

    • 22nd August 2017 / 10:36 pm

      Thank you so much! I really wanted to like it, but I just don’t know why I disliked it so much! xx

  8. 23rd August 2017 / 3:50 am

    Out of the 30-odd books I’ve read so far this year, this was my favourite. So much so that I ended up getting Niven’s other book, Holding Up The Universe (and while that novel is good and delivers a positive body-image message) I still preferred this one more. I guess I really just loved Finch a lot. And was really gutted when he died. This is gonna be made into a movie soon starring Elle Fanning which I can’t wait to check out (hopefully they’ll cast Cole Sprouse as Finch)!

    • 23rd August 2017 / 2:51 pm

      I think I’m definitely going to watch the film to see if I like it then… I just don’t know why I couldnt get into it! I’ve brought Holding Up The Universe when I brought this, so I’m going to see how I do with that one!

      • 24th August 2017 / 5:33 am

        I feel like you’ll like the girl protagonist better in Holding Up The Universe. She’s way sassier and badass. Violet was kinda meek and didn’t have much going for her other than being pretty.

        • 25th August 2017 / 2:01 pm

          I think thats what annoyed me about Violet… She acts differently depending on who she’s with, and like you said, the only thing she had going for her was that she’s good looking! Fingers crossd for HUTU!

Leave a Reply