REVIEW: All The Bright Things

I’d seen this book all over the place, so I knew I had to get it and give it a go.

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the ‘natural wonders’ of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself – a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?

An intense, gripping novel, perfect for fans of John Green, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman and Jenny Downham.

Since everyone had said how this is perfect if you’re a fan of John Green, I had extremely high hopes for this.

First things first, even though I really enjoyed Niven’s writing style, I found it extremely difficult to form a relationship with the characters. I couldn’t even tell you who my favourite character was since in all honestly, they all annoyed the shit into me.

Secondly, I was told by multiple people that I was going to cry and need to get some tissues. I sort of guessed what was going to happen, and when I finally got to it, I felt nothing. Either I’m a cold hearted bitch (most likely), or it just wasn’t that well written. I did like the lead up to the big event, but the actual event was quite disappointing. Not in what happened, just as how it was written.

I asked on my Instagram stories if the book got really any better, and the verdict was that no, it really doesn’t, and they were right.

If I’m reading a book, I usually find myself saying ‘one more chapter’ even though it’s 3am. With this, I found myself feeling tired and just went to bed for the night despite being halfway through a chapter.

I’m really annoyed I didn’t like this as much as I thought I would do. I’d be even more annoyed if I took this away on holiday to read by the pool…

I honestly don’t understand why this could be someones favourite book though. Finch changes who he is every 5 seconds, and Violet is such a bitch to Finch when her popular friends are around.

Sad to say that this wasn’t for me. I do have another book written by Jennifer, and even though I am intrigued to see if I feel the same about that book too, I’m sort of telling myself to not bother.

What did you think of this book? AmΒ I just being a cold hearted bitch, or was it really that dull?

Advertisements

28 thoughts on “REVIEW: All The Bright Things

  1. I read this book and I found the start reaaaally slow, dull and boring. But when things did start to pick up the pace/when it felt a little bit more like ‘P.S I love you’ I really enjoyed reading it and I had a stream of tears flowing from my swollen eyes. I loved the book however it is quite predictable in basically everyway so I feel like you have to be a sucker for stereotypes and corny romance to actually be satisfied with the read. Loved reading this review x

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I was going to give this book a read, but I don’t know if I want to now. I feel like a lot of books I’ve read lately are predictable. I want something to make my jaw drop and say ‘I didn’t expect that’ have you got any recommendations?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been wanting to read it for a while now but I’ve always been put off because A LOT of people said they just never felt connected to the characters! And that’s what I love about reading! So idk, I may give it a go soon x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I read this last year and I felt so underwhelmed by it. All of my friends had really enjoyed it, so I bought it and I thought I’d bought the wrong book or something, my opinion on it was the polar opposite to theirs, made me feel like a cold hearted bitch too! Glad I’m not the only one who was a bit disappointed by it! X

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Out of the 30-odd books I’ve read so far this year, this was my favourite. So much so that I ended up getting Niven’s other book, Holding Up The Universe (and while that novel is good and delivers a positive body-image message) I still preferred this one more. I guess I really just loved Finch a lot. And was really gutted when he died. This is gonna be made into a movie soon starring Elle Fanning which I can’t wait to check out (hopefully they’ll cast Cole Sprouse as Finch)!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s