REVIEW: All The Bright Things

I’ve seen All The Bright Things book all over the place, so I knew I had to get it and give it a go.

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the ‘natural wonders’ of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself – a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?

An intense, gripping novel, perfect for fans of John Green, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman and Jenny Downham.

Since everyone had said how this is perfect if you’re a fan of John Green, I had extremely high hopes for this.

First things first, even though I really enjoyed Niven’s writing style, I found it extremely difficult to form a relationship with the characters. I couldn’t even tell you who my favourite character was since in all honestly, they all annoyed the shit into me.

Secondly, I was told by multiple people that I was going to cry and need to get some tissues. I sort of guessed what was going to happen, and when I finally got to it, I felt nothing. Either I’m a cold hearted bitch (most likely), or it just wasn’t that well written. I did like the lead up to the big event, but the actual event was quite disappointing. Not in what happened, just as how it was written.

I asked on my Instagram stories if the book got really any better, and the verdict was that no, it really doesn’t, and they were right.

If I’m reading a book, I usually find myself saying ‘one more chapter’ even though it’s 3am. With this, I found myself feeling tired and just went to bed for the night despite being halfway through a chapter.

I’m really annoyed I didn’t like this as much as I thought I would do. I’d be even more annoyed if I took this away on holiday to read by the pool…

I honestly don’t understand why this could be someones favourite book though. Finch changes who he is every 5 seconds, and Violet is such a bitch to Finch when her popular friends are around.

Sad to say that this wasn’t for me. I do have another book written by Jennifer, and even though I am intrigued to see if I feel the same about that book too, I’m sort of telling myself to not bother.

What did you think of this book? Am I just being a cold hearted bitch, or was it really that dull?

Share: